Skip to content

CT clamps and load balancing for EV chargers

A CT clamp is a clip-on sensor that tells your charger how much power the house is using or exporting. You need one for solar diverting and for load balancing, and most smart chargers supply it in the box. Spare clamps cost about £30 to £50.

Updated 10 October 2026Facts checked 10 October 2026 against primary sources5 min read

The short answer

What it is
A clip-on sensor
It reads current on the cable from your meter and feeds it to the charger.
Load balancing
Protects your supply
The charger slows when the house is busy, so total demand stays within your fuse.
Solar
Needs a clamp
Ohme, Hypervolt, zappi, Easee and Andersen all rely on one to see surplus power.
Cost of a spare
£30-£50
DNO estimate. Usually in the box or the standard install.
Main fuse upgrade
£0-£200
Usually free from the network operator. Balancing can avoid needing one.

Ask your installer whether your charger has a clamp, where it will sit, and whether the quote includes it.

Figures checked on 10 October 2026.

What a CT clamp does

CT stands for current transformer. The clamp is a split-core ring that closes around a live cable without touching the copper. It measures how much current passes through that cable and sends the reading to the charger. Ohme describes it as monitoring “the total load going through a home”. The usual place is the cable leaving your smart meter, which is why Ohme says to attach it “closest to the cable exiting the smart meter”. The arrow on the clamp must point the way electricity flows into the house, and the clamp must be closed and locked.

A charger uses that one reading for two jobs: load balancing and solar diverting.

Load balancing and your main fuse

A 7.4kW charger can draw about 32A for hours. Your home is protected by a main fuse (the cut-out), commonly 60A, 80A or 100A, and the oven, shower and tumble dryer share it. Load balancing watches the total and lowers the charger’s output when the house needs the power, then raises it again. Ohme says it “will temporarily reduce the power of the EV charger to prevent a loss of power”. Pod’s Solo has the same idea under the name Auto Power Balancing: its status light flashes yellow when the limit is reached and returns to green when demand drops.

This matters for the network operator too. The Energy Networks Association says an installer can connect first and notify the operator within 28 days where the maximum demand, including the new charger, is 60A or less per phase. Above that the installer can still use that route if the charger has a fail-safe load-limiting scheme that keeps total demand at 60A or less. Where new demand would reach 60A to 100A, or the supply is looped, the installer must apply first. The operator answers within 10 working days.

Balancing can sometimes avoid a fuse upgrade. Upgrades are usually free: UK Power Networks upgrades 30A or 60A supplies to 80A or 100A at no charge, though Citizens Advice found one £200 assessment fee, and 22% of people with a low-carbon technology needed one. A limiter is not a substitute where the supply is unsafe. Your installer measures the demand and decides.

Solar diverting

For solar the clamp must see both import and export at the meter. Ohme requires one to charge from solar, and without a working reading Solar Boost and Solar Only are unavailable. Place it on the live cable as close to the meter box as possible. The myenergi zappi uses a grid clamp, and its modes (Eco, Eco+, Fast) rely on it. Easee needs the Equalizer, and Andersen’s standard install includes a solar integration package that uses a solar clamp. Hypervolt’s supplied clamp must sit at the supply origin to detect export, and a second one protects a home battery.

One trade-off: during Octopus-managed windows on Intelligent Octopus Go, Hypervolt runs in Boost and its solar modes are unavailable. See our solar charging guide before choosing both.

Which chargers include a clamp

ChargerLoad balancingSolarSolar needs a clampWhat we found
Ohme Home ProYesYesYesClamp in the box. Ohme says it is fitted in almost all installs.
Ohme ePodYesYesYesClamp in the box.
Hypervolt Home 3 ProYesYesYesSupplied clamp runs Automatic Load Management. A second clamp (£25) is needed for Battery Safe mode.
myenergi zappiYesYesYesGrid clamp with 5m cable in the box. A wireless harvi sensor is optional.
Pod (formerly Pod Point) Solo 3SNot statedYesNot statedNot stated on Pod's consumer page. Pod describes an Energy Clamp behind its Auto Power Balancing.
Andersen A3YesYesYesAdaptive fuse (single-phase only) plus a solar clamp in the standard installation.
Easee OneYesYesYesThree Easee units can share a circuit. Whole-house balancing and solar need the Equalizer, £129.99.
Wallbox Pulsar MaxYesYesNot statedStatic load management included. Dynamic needs an external Wallbox power meter.
Tesla Wall Connector (Gen 3)YesNoNot statedPower Sharing between Wall Connectors. Whole-home needs a Tesla or Neurio meter, sold separately.
Zaptec Go 2YesYesNot statedWhole-home balancing needs the Zaptec Sense accessory.
Indra (Indra Renewable Technologies Ltd) Smart PROYesYesYesClamp in the box. The charger drops to 6A if it loses contact with the clamp.
EO Charging EO Mini Pro 3YesYesYesLocal balancing through a clamp, which keeps working offline. The maker is in administration.
Octopus ChargeNot statedYesNot stated
Rolec EVOYesYesYes
Sync Energy Wall Charger 2YesYesYes
evec VEC01 (vecGO 2.0)YesYesYes

Load balancing and solar clamp requirements from our charger data, 10 October 2026. 'Not stated' means the maker's pages did not say.

Octopus Charge is not in this table. Octopus does not document load balancing for it, and its Eco mode says nothing about how export is measured.

Fitting and common faults

The clamp wires join the charger’s data cable, and Ohme says the installer checks the reading in Installer Mode; if usage is too low, switching on a kettle helps. The faults makers warn about are installation errors: a clamp facing the wrong way (myenergi and Ohme both stress direction), left open, or moved. Pod notes that a smart meter fitted afterwards can disturb its Energy Clamp, which can trigger the flashing red safety mode. Ohme adds that a missing, misfitted or faulty clamp can cap its charger at 16A, about 3.7 to 3.8kW, and suggests checking that the clamp reading rises when the home uses power. If you have your meter swapped, tell your installer.

Questions people ask

Do you need a CT clamp for an EV charger?
Not for plain charging. Ohme says a clamp is not needed for ordinary charging but is essential for solar charging, and that load balancing uses it to cut charger power when the home is busy. The clamp is optional on some chargers and standard on others, so ask your installer which applies to your supply and charger.
What is a CT clamp for an EV charger?
A current transformer: a split-core sensor that clips round a live cable, usually the one leaving your smart meter. Ohme says it monitors the total load going through a home. The charger reads it to slow down when demand is high or to divert solar surplus.
Do I need a CT clamp for an Ohme charger?
Ohme supplies a clamp in the box for the Home Pro and ePod. You need a working one for Solar Boost and Solar Only, which also need a charger installed from January 2023. Ohme says one is fitted as standard in almost all its installations.
How much does a CT clamp cost?
DNOs estimate £30 to £50 per clamp in the DESNZ unlooping research. Most mainstream smart chargers include one. Hypervolt sells a second clamp for £25 for Battery Safe mode, and Easee's whole-house kit, the Equalizer, is £129.99.
Does load balancing slow my charging?
Only when the rest of the house is drawing a lot. Load balancing temporarily lowers the charger's output to stay within your supply, then raises it again. Ohme says the feature will temporarily reduce power to prevent a loss of power.

Sources

  1. Troubleshooting slow charging, Ohme (read 10 October 2026)
  2. How do I install a CT clamp?, Ohme (read 10 October 2026)
  3. How to charge with Solar Boost and Solar Only, Ohme (read 10 October 2026)
  4. Pod Point lights explained, Pod (read 10 October 2026)
  5. Connecting electric vehicles and heat pumps, Energy Networks Association (read 10 October 2026)
  6. Unlooping electricity network connections: research summary report (2026), DESNZ and Eunomia (read 10 October 2026)
  7. What do you need to upgrade?, UK Power Networks (read 10 October 2026)
  8. zappi EV charger, myenergi (read 10 October 2026)
  9. Home 3 Pro technical specifications, Hypervolt (read 10 October 2026)
  10. Solar Charging with Easee Chargers, Easee (read 10 October 2026)
  11. Andersen EV installation, Andersen EV (read 10 October 2026)
  12. Wall Connector 3 install manual (en-GB), Tesla (read 10 October 2026)
  13. Indra installation guide, Indra (read 10 October 2026)

Ready for a charger? Compare quotes from local installers

Tell us where you park and see a price estimate in about a minute. Up to three accredited installers then quote — free, no obligation.

Get free quotes

Free, no obligation, takes 60 seconds

Get free quotes